Magazine Spread

As I pondered what article I would use for my magazine spread. I thought about a message that really helped me put things into perspective. The article I chose to use was a General Conference Message from Elder Holland. It talks about the Atonement and what it means for each of us. I thought this message would be most applicable to an older and understanding audience. It is for anyone feeling alone and struggling. I designed it so it would be easy to read and gripping.  The format is professional and straight to the point.

I wanted to display this article in the most effective way possible. I decided to use an image I had from a time that I visited the Garden of Gethsemane. I felt that it would add a lot to the article if I put it right under the title of the article. The image at the end ties everything together. The image reminds us of what the article was about. The color scheme I used was from the first image. It brought everything together and unified the spread. I then added the Lucida Sans font to make sure it was easy to read. I used this font to contrast against the Century font title. Two very clear and understandable fonts.

Overall I think that everything coming together really helps us understand the message found in the article. I didn’t want to do anything that took away the feeling or impact of the words testified in the article. Neither did I want to distract the audience from what they were reading with flashy or unnecessary pictures or text imaging. I think the neutral color and images help to showcase and mirror the important spiritual messages found within the text.

Colby Phillips Magizine Spread

Colby Phillips Magizine Spread2Colby Phillips Magizine Spread3

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

